The Start of Something Bigger ~ What I Want

Do you ever regret following your dreams?

When going into college, many people laughed when I said I was going to be a literature major. “What can you do with a BA in English?” If what everyone told me was true, the only things I had to look forward to, after college, was a career in–well, no one could really tell me. I wasn’t going to be a nurse, or an engineer, nor would I create any new, brilliant websites. People made a few guesses about what my future jobs would be, but no one could give me a straight answer. No one could give me a good idea on what to expect from the future.

So I decided to really think about what I REALLY wanted to do.

Since I was a child, I’ve always loved stories. It doesn’t matter what medium the stories come from. Books? Movies? TV? Cartoons? Anime? Comics? Doesn’t matter to me. I inhale stories on a daily basis, to the point where I don’t even see stories like normal people. When I’m confronted with a story, I break it down. I take apart the elements of it, criticize it, praise it, see what works and what doesn’t. I gain an appreciation for story telling that most people who just taste stories don’t. After all, most people don’t devour stories quite like I do.

So I digested stories, but where do I store the nutrients?

It would be a waste to just let those empty calories gather up, wouldn’t it? Calories, like knowledge, have to be employed, used for some positive output. I had to exercise my critical brain in some way. The question remained how. Was that why I became an English Major? To break down books and exercise my brain?

Perhaps, but I want more.

What else did I love? Writing. I was always writing stories. Not just ordinary stories, but big ones. Novels. Huge epics that drew from the countless stories I lovingly devoured. I consumed so much that it would be a waste not to produced something that could be devoured by others, right? Maybe something that other people could lovingly dissect and take apart, or just tasted by enough people to lure them in for a second bite?

From there, my future seemed set in stone.

What you are reading now is the account of my quest, and more than that a collection of the works I have digested. This blog will be my entrails, and the post is–well, it certainly isn’t my waste since I hope someone reading this will draw something out of it. If that sounds nasty, well, I’m a writer. If I’m going to be paid for writing it certainly will be for memorable analogies.

– Anthony Gramuglia, future writer.

Tags: , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “The Start of Something Bigger ~ What I Want”

  1. gioben19 says :

    Just follow your dream, my blog is just about it, have you been so scared that your dream could not become true ? That is one of the lines I used on one of my post. I am. Keep writing I will follow you. Good luck with everything.
    Sincerely, a Senior Student from Central America

    • agramuglwrites says :

      Sorry it took so long to read this. No, I’m not scared it won’t come true. It’s more that I’m worried I might get scared it won’t come true. It’s all a matter of patience, I think. I just need to send queries until an agent eventually accepts. It’s just a matter of determination. Thanks so much. Every person listening gives me a little more faith in myself. ^_^

      • gioben19 says :

        Faith in ourselves is what we most need in some times in our lives. I have so many things coming already, applying for a scholarship and get better grades and score. It’s a very big dream for me. I hope we could all end this the better way.

  2. Glinda Robyn says :

    Very nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really enjoyed browsing your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

Leave a Reply

