Blogging on ALL the Batman Films

I am going to watch every Batman movie ever made before the Dark Knight Rises comes out.

This might sound like nothing special. What’s the big deal? You’re gonna watch Batman Begins and The Dark Knight before the third one comes out. Big deal.

No, you misunderstand. I’m going beyond that.

Oh, you’re gonna watch the older films too? Oh, so what? Tim Burton and Schumacher’s films are famous.

No. More.

Adam West’s cheesy film? Ah, no big deal. What’s so special about—

No. I mean EVERY one worth noting.

In total, I intend on blogging about the following films in the coming week in order:

1) Batman (1943 serial)

2) Batman and Robin (1963)

3) Batman (‘89)

4) Batman Returns

5) Batman: Mask of the Phantasm

6) Batman Forever

7) Batman and Robin (‘97)

8) Catwoman

9) Batman Beyond: Return of the Joker

10) Batman Begins

11) Batman: Gotham Knights

12) The Dark Knight

13) Batman: Under the Red Hood

14) The Dark Knight Rises

I’m omitting a few of the animated films just because watching more than 14 films in a little more than a week is a little absurd. I intend on watching every one of these, and reviewing them, then, at the end, recapping on what I thought of them.

You might be wondering why I’d want to blog all the Batman films? After all, I’m a writer who hasn’t updated his blog in a good ten days or so. What right do I have being a movie critic? Why would I blog on a bunch of silly movies about a guy who dresses up as a bat? What does this have to do with my journey to being published?

A lot more than you’d realize.

When I was younger, I loved comics. I still do, but I was completely obsessed with them between third and fifth grade. I credit Stan Lee and Chris Claremont as two writers who helped inspire me to be a writer in the first place, and, in later years, Alan Moore would help inspire the novel series I’m trying to publish! Even now, I wonder if, once I’m published, I might send my resume to Marvel Comics or DC to try my hand at writing comics. I’d probably be rejected or laughed off, but it’s still something I’d one day like to do.

My favorite hero in particular was Spider-Man, and X-Men was probably second, but Batman was a close contender for third. I was fascinated by his complex psyche, his relationship to his alter ego, how he adopted people into a pseudo family, how they bounced off one another, and–who am I kidding? I loved him for the villains and all of their sick psyches. As I grew up, the points I just mentioned made me appreciate the character even more, but I always did love the Caped Crusader’s rogues gallery. I watched all of the movies growing up. There was even a time Batman and Robin impressed me, though that time lasted all of two minutes after the credits rolled.

I feel that, as a writer, one needs to reflect on what they enjoyed in order to bring enjoyment to others. If we want to write something compelling, we have to understand what compelled us as readers. So, for the next week, I’ll be diligently rewatching the aforementioned films, post my thoughts on them in an orderly manner, then, after watching the Dark Knight Rises, reflect on what I just experienced. I’ll compare who was the best Batman, who was the worst, what films I enjoyed and didn’t, what villains left an impact and which ones didn’t, what style is the best, etc. Some of the things I say will surprise you, some might not. For anyone going into writing or who are already writing, I think my perspective on the series might intrigue you. Hopefully.

Wish me the best of luck.

– Anthony Gramuglia, a hopeless fanboy who thinks he can write

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

